top of page

Difference Between Tuning Stages 1, 2 & 3 (Explained)

Updated: Jan 9

Tuning companies often use stage 1, stage 2, and stage 3 changes. These stages and changes are sometimes not clearly distinguished or defined.

To explain what modifications and improvements normally go under these different tuning levels, we have created this article.

Stage 1+ and stage 2+ are occasionally used to refer to upgrades or alterations that occur between stages, such as BOVs.

  • Stage 1 tuning mods are usually inexpensive and can be installed on their own.

  • Stage 2 tuning mods require additional parts and can be more expensive.

  • Stage 3 tuning mods are generally motorsport only, expensive, and typically not road legal.

  • Stage 1+, 2+, etc., are used to describe supporting modifications between main stages.


Table of Contents:


Stage 1

In most cases, a stage 1 mod may be installed without the need of any extra parts. A true stage 1 modification item doesn't require any other engine modifications to function properly, aside from perhaps some mounting bolts or clips.